contact  |  extranet


What is New Institutional Economics?

The New Institutional Economics (NIE) is an interdisciplinary enterprise combining economics, law, organization theory, political science, sociology and anthropology to understand the institutions of social, political and commercial life. It borrows liberally from various social-science disciplines, but its primary language is economics. Its goal is to explain what institutions are, how they arise, what purposes they serve, how they change and how - if at all – they should be reformed.

ISNIE Mission Statement

ISNIE encourages rigorous theoretical and empirical investigation of these topics using approaches drawn from economics, organization theory, law, political science, and other social sciences. The Society makes a special effort to encourage participation from scholars around the world, with membership from over 46 countries. ISNIE is committed to young scholars as well as those from developing and transitional economies.

Officers 2015 :

  • President: John de Figueiredo
  • President-Elect: Henry Smith
  • 1st Vice-President: Sergei Guriev (SciencesPo)
  • 2nd Vice-President: Bentley MacLeod (Columbia University)
  • Secretary: Giorgio Zanarone (CUNEF)
  • Treasurers: Janet Bercovitz (University of Illinois)
  • Web editor: Jens Prüfer (Tilburg University)
  • Coordinator and webmaster: Bruno Chaves

Board Members:

  • Robert Gibbons (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Ricard Gil (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Andrew Hanssen (Clemson University)
  • David Levine (Washington University at St. Louis and European University Institute)
  • Joanne Oxley (University of Toronto)
  • Maria Petrova (Universitat Pompeu Fabra and Institute of Political Economy and Governance)
  • Roberta Romano (Yale Law School)
  • John Wallis (University of Maryland)
  • Patrick Warren (Clemson University)

Past Presidents:

  • Ronald Coase, 1996-1997
  • Douglass C. North, 1997-1999
  • Oliver E. Williamson, 1999-2001
  • Claude Ménard, 2001-2002
  • Paul L. Joskow, 2002-2003
  • Mary M. Shirley, 2003-2004
  • Gary D. Libecap, 2004-2005
  • Benito Arruñada, 2005-2006
  • Lee Alston, 2006-2007
  • Thrainn Eggertsson, 2007-2008
  • Scott Masten, 2008-2009
  • Pablo Spiller, 2009-2010
  • Frank Stephen, 2010-2011
  • Barry Weingast, 2011-2012
  • Lee Epstein, 2012-2013
  • Eric Brousseau, 2013-2014